mossylog


All Hail Kale
June 20, 2012, 1:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I took that from the Veggie Grill menu.  I never in a million years thought I would like love kale.  But it happened.  I have always known that kale is good for you and it must be somehow edible maybe even enjoyable.  I tried – I would buy kale salad at the deli every year or so, I would buy some and try to fix it, I would look up recipes in books and on the internet, but I could never make it be even remotely possible to eat. Then I discovered kale chips – I bought them at Food Fight and was hooked on the things – I found a recipe to make them at home (it takes a ton of kale to make even a few chips), my daughter pointed out that was just an oil and salt delivery system. What did I care I was eating kale. 

I read every issue of Veg News cover to cover, except I skim the part of about animal cruelty (another post), but in April/May issue they had a green smoothie recipe that involved kale, my husband suggested we try it. The first time I tried it I made it in the food processor and added the suggested 2 cups of water-it was chunky and watery at the same time if that is possible.  Surprisingly I made it again the next day-this time in the blender and with less water-I haven’t missed a day since we started them. Image

  

Original Recipe

 

4 large kale leaves

½ cup of spinach

½ banana

4 pitted dates

1/3 cup blueberries

2 cups water

 

 

My recipe starting with what I put in first:

 

3 pitted dates

1 banana-if it is really big I only use half otherwise I use the whole thing

2 cups baby kale-if I can find it, otherwise 4 large kale leaves destemmed

2 cups spinach or whatever I can fit in the blender after the other things.

½ cup blueberries sometimes frozen and sometimes fresh either one works.

½ cup+/- water just enough to get the blender to work well.

Chia seeds – no idea how much-this works really well if I have added too much water and it needs to be thickened up.  The chia seeds kind of get like tapioca after they soak for a bit.

I usually have to start the blender and then stop it and shove the stuff in harder and maybe add more water. If I blend longer if it is regular kale and a bit less if it is baby kale. 

 

Also I have added cucumber, mango, peaches, apples, and papayas-they were all good. I am off to make my “greenie” for the day – maybe two! Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

